TheMostReadBook.org

An English translation of the Quran that is as close as possible to the Arabic sacred text
View active topics
  Verse(s):    
View unanswered posts

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 3 posts ] 
 Post subject: Abrogated Verses Or Not?
PostPosted: 08 Apr 2011, 04:57 

Hi folks,

I'm not a Muslim but I find myself defending Islam a lot of the time because I am a pro-Palestinian activist.

I got a comment from a guy who claims that basically all the verses in the Koran that command you to do good deeds have been canceled by abrogation.

I would like to know a few things about abrogation:

a) Is there even a consensus among Muslims as to whether abrogation is legitimate theology?

b) Which verses if any have been abrogated?

c) How do you know if a verse has been abrogated?

d) If a verse has been abrogated is it still in the Koran?

e) Is there a consensus among those who believe in abrogation as to which verses have been abrogated?

f) If a verse has been abrogated is it replaced with a verse that has a similar meaning eg one that commands you to do good deeds?

Thanks

Rob

Post subject: Re: Abrogated Verses Or Not?
PostPosted: 08 Apr 2011, 22:57 
Site Admin

Hi, Rob, and welcome to the forum. You came to the right place!

The answers to your questions are basically what this forum is all about. There is plenty to read, I realize, but if you want the short answers, here they are:

a) Is there even a consensus among Muslims as to whether abrogation is legitimate theology?
e) Is there a consensus among those who believe in abrogation as to which verses have been abrogated?

No, there is no consensus, neither on the doctrine itself nor on the individual claims.

b) Which verses if any have been abrogated?